Skip to main content

One–Day Boating Safety Course to fit your schedule

Apr 27, 2016 03:13PM ● By Pamela Johnson

Successful completion of the course will also certify a minor ages 12-16 to operate a powerboat, including a personal water craft, Jet Ski for 16 & 17 year-old operators, on Massachusetts waters

Our local United States Coast Guard Auxiliary Tri-State Flotilla 1002 will conduct a one-day ABOUT BOATING SAFELY course developed to provide the skills and confidence needed to explore the coast and inland waters by boat. The course will be held on Saturday, May 14, from 8 AM to 5 PM, at Milford High School, located at 31 West Fountain Street.

Basic knowledge and skills are needed to have safe and enjoyable boating experiences, and this course is perfect for families that have just purchased a boat or are planning to in the future; and also for the boater keeping up with changes to boating regulations and laws.  Successful completion of the course will also certify a minor, from 12 to 16 years of age, to operate a powerboat, including a Personal Water Craft / Jet Ski for 16 & 17 year-old operators, on Massachusetts waters. Certification is in conjunction with the Mass. Environmental Police. 

Rhode Island residents born after 1985 can also take the “Challenge Exam” for certification to operate motor vessels over 10 HP along with anyone, any age, from any state, wanting to operate a PWC on RI waters.  ABS also meets the requirements to operate a vessel in many other states & most countries where boating safety education is mandatory.  Several of the boating insurance companies offer a discount on premiums on successful completion of this course.

The course is offered as part of the Milford Community School-Use Program, and information and the registration process can be found in the Spring Milford Community Center catalog that is sent out by mail to the surrounding community, online at  (under Adult Programs - Spring), by calling 508-478-1119,  or by email to  [email protected]

The USCG Aux. offers Public Education Courses given by certified, experienced, volunteer instructors at a cost that covers: a facility usage/registration fee to MCSU for this course; and the additional cost of the ABS Course textbook, certification, hand-out materials, including LUNCH for the day…..the fee is discounted for additional family members attending.
For additional USCGAux. information: [email protected] or (508) 478-3778.
Course information and links:

Seasonal Favorites
Loading Family Features Content Widget
Loading Family Features Article